Skip to content

Graditude

June 22, 2010

Gates

Big events are like proverbial buses; after a long wait, they all come along at once. Part of me is convinced that this trend is actually a huge conspiracy by the cosmos to overwhelm me with happenings, and then take them all away when I’m properly prepared. Well done, cosmos, you’ve exhausted me already.

Today was, for many of my close friends, graduation day. I didn’t attend the ceremony itself (I’d like to pretend I had a legitimate reason, but I slept in), but I did hit up the garden party for some free champagne in miniature plastic glasses and an hour and a half in which to run around and congratulate the myriad graduands I knew. Tiring stuff, especially in the fierce heat (I pitied the gown-wearers immensely). A thoroughly enjoyable time was had, though my fun was slightly undermined by the news that I didn’t get into the Tower Poetry summer school I applied to. Ach, well, I’ve two more years of eligibility to try for it. We’ll see. I will admit I’m pretty gutted — alongside my distinct lack of success with literary magazines, the vocational dream is looking a little more like a mirage just now.

Forge of the Wordsmiths launch partyBut the beautiful things are difficult, so I’ll soldier on. It might be a bit easier to digest it all if there wasn’t so much else going on. Because of time/money constraints, I didn’t manage to make it to the Forge of the Wordsmiths launch party in Glasgow on the 20th. This was a particular shame as I won their haiku competition (hurrah! someone loves me) and had the poem printed on lots of helium balloons. I’m told it was a fantastic kickstart to this new initiative for Scottish writers, and wish I could have been there. Alas, alack, it could not be.

The 25th is this year’s Grad Ball, and seeing as I know so many people who are foraying out into the Real World this year, I shall be suited up and in attendance. But what with the launch party, the Tower Poetry bombshell and various graduation-y things, not to mention CAROLINE’S BIRTHDAY on the 16th, it’s been a mental week, with my 21st falling only four days after the Ball (I imagine that’ll be a quiet one — I don’t quite share Caroline’s child-like enthusiasm for birthdays). Blimey. I think I need a cup of tea.

I’m just glad I’ve got another year, albeit one haunted by the dread spectre of the Dissertation, before I have to go through all this hullabaloo for myself.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. June 22, 2010 7:07 pm

    1. Gradpicsplzthnx

    2. Capital Birthday Bash imminent?

    • June 22, 2010 8:58 pm

      1) I’m the wrong person to ask!

      2) No. I don’t think that’s likely.

Leave a Reply

